Private or classical colleges offer the equivalent of the two-year CEGEP university transfer program. Students may, however, continue at the college and work toward a degree from the university with which it is affiliated.

The first degree requires three additional years of study after completion of two CEGEP years. The seven universities in the province (three of them English-language) have a variety of undergraduate and graduate degree, diploma and certificate programs. A semi-independent universities council plans their general development and makes recommendations on operating and capital budgets. It is chaired by a government official but includes representatives of the public and the universities.

6.4.6 Ontario

Ontario was the first province to divide responsibility for education between two departments, a ministry of education and a ministry of colleges and universities, but reverted to one (the ministry of education) in 1979.

Since 1966 the number of school boards in Ontario has been reduced from 1,600 to 193. Three types of boards exist: boards of education (76), non-sectarian bodies responsible for elementary and secondary education in large areas such as counties, districts, cities; boards which operate one type of school only (108), such as public elementary schools and Roman Catholic separate schools; and boards operating schools on Crown lands (9).

Roman Catholic schools provide tax-supported educational services for kindergarten through grade 10. In some schools of separate boards, grades 11, 12 and 13 are also offered but these grades constitute a private school and are not under the jurisdiction of the board.

Attendance is compulsory from 6 to 16 years. Most schools provide an optional year of kindergarten for 5-year-olds, and in some urban areas, junior kindergarten for 4-year-olds. Ontario has a 13-grade system: elementary school lasts eight years, secondary five. However, as continuous progress has become popular, the conventional grade pattern has been modified. The detailed standardized course of study has been replaced by curriculum guidelines issued by the ministry. The curriculum has been divided into four three-year segments: primary, junior, intermediate and senior.

Secondary education operates on a credit system; 27 credits are required for a graduation diploma (grade 12). Six additional credits in honour level work are required for an honour graduation diploma (grade 13); this is necessary for university admission. High schools also offer trade, technical and business programs that prepare students for either immediate employment or entry to a college of applied arts and technology (CAAT) or other post-secondary non-university institution.

In the mid-1960s institutes of technology and provincial vocational centres were incorporated into CAATs. A network of 22 on more than 50 campuses provides technical and trades programs for students who do not intend to go to university. Although CAATs were not designed to accommodate prospective transfer students, universities do admit some graduates into the second or third year of degree courses. CAATs are completely under the jurisdiction of the ministry of education. The Ontario Council of Regents, a 15-member body appointed by the government, advises on new programs and other matters. Each college is a separate corporation with a 12-member board of governors. In addition to CAATs, post-secondary non-university training is available in four colleges of agricultural technology, a school of horticulture, a chiropractic college and an institute of medical technology.

Ontario's 21 degree-granting universities offer undergraduate and graduate programs leading to degrees, diplomas and certificates in a wide range of fields.

6.4.7 Manitoba

As of July 1, 1978, the two provincial departments of education and continuing education were combined to be known as the department of education.

Over 90% of public school enrolment comes under the administration of 47 unitary division boards responsible for all public elementary and secondary education within their jurisdictions. Some schools in remote areas and other special schools are not included in these division boards. School divisions are under the jurisdiction of elected